WHAT’S YOUR MIND DOING IN A MASSAGE?

1013358_621268081244379_464450794_n
When we are doing massage, we are thinking. What are you thinking? How do we “in our wholeness wholly attend”? I have coined the term “psychomechanics” to be used in parallel with “body mechanics”.

When doing massage, to wholly attend means to be present as much as possible with our whole self – body, mind, heart and spirit. And what we know, from even the most basic experience of meditation, is that it can be hard to keep focused, not always easy to be fully present.

Where do we generally want to focus when doing massage? In Deep Massage and Zero Balancing, we want explicitly to focus on what we call “interface”. That is where and when my structure and energy (you can think “body and mind”) meets the structure and energy of the client. This is what I center on when doing massage, as surely as one might center on a certain mantra when doing meditation.

So, what shall we do, knowing that attention tends to wander? We need to make sure that our wanderings are mostly productive. Often interface will go into the background, while I think about some relevant anatomy. Or sometime I may have a confusing feeling I need to explore while working on someone, perhaps anger – is this from their not letting go or from something earlier in the day that has no relevance to them? Or maybe I need a moment to pay particular attention to my body when I find myself doing something inefficiently. Or maybe I need a spiritual rebalance, as I realize during the 4th session of the day that I am just going through the motions and not truly honoring this amazing person on the table.

When I first learned massage, nobody told me what to do with my mind; I just learned mostly strokes and anatomy. Now our field can equally emphasize the important considerations of what are you doing with your mind.

If you are committed to being at interface, even though your mind will inevitably wander sometimes, you have a vastly better opportunity of creating a successful therapeutic relationship and outcome.

Posted on January 22, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The condition can cause a variety of symptoms, the severity of
    which typically depends on the extent to which the spine has abnormally curved.
    They awaken briefly to take a breath but usually don’t remember waking up.
    The digestive system comprises of esophagus, stomach, duodenum and intestines.

Leave a Reply

